Skip to content


Since 1955, worthy recipients across Australia have been recognised as AFL Merit Award recipients. The nomination process and the full list of recipients can be found below.


Each State and Territory select up to two outstanding volunteers for an AFL Merit Award each year. These volunteers must have contributed significantly to Australian Football for a period of at least 10 years (typically much more than 10). 

AFL Merit Award winners receive an AFL Merit Award Certificate signed by the AFL CEO and Chairman and will be added to the list of Merit Award winners dating back to 1955 (with one outlier recognised in 1931). 

Contact State Managers for details on the process of how the State / Territory will be selecting their AFL Merit Award winners for this year. 

View List of Previous Winners